Just another WordPress.com weblog

Back to Reality

Nineteen days after leaving for Minnesota, I arrived back in sunny Florida on Sunday. Even though I spent my vacation craving the balmy 70 degree weather, I’m desperately missing the single digits of Minnesota.

I moved away 5 1/2 years ago to go to college. You would think that I would be able to say goodbye to my family easier than the time before. It never works that way though. I miss them more and more each time I leave and have to say goodbye. I hate leaving them. I know I have my own life know and that I’m not a little kid but I still hate it. My 7-year-old sister has asked every year since she was 2 if I would come to her birthday party. I haven’t made it for 5 years. She turns 8 on January 22. I won’t be there again. I miss my brother’s hockey games and my middle sister’s band performances. I miss my niece’s birthday and her preschool performances. I miss everything. I don’t get to see them grow up. I don’t get to help my parents or my brother when they need help picking up kids or a babysitter. I just have to be 1800 miles away.

So here I am. In Florida. Crying like a little kid. I know I’ll be fine a week or two and that I will see them soon. I just love them so much you know. They are a part of who I am and who I always will be. So for today, I hate being back to reality.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

