Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Lack of Creativity

So I’ve been pondering what to write about today. I could tell you that my cold is almost gone (YAY!), or that I’m still struggling to figure out my place in the church volunteer realm, or that Chris took me to Palace Pizza today because he loves me, or about all the blogs I’ve been reading about, or even about all the housework I’ve accomplished today. I could talk about anything of those at great length.

But I’m not.

Instead, I’m going to tell you about how I can’t seem to write more than a few sentences whenever I attempt any piece of fictional writing. I have three drafts of three different stories that just cause me to wrinkle my nose when I look at them. I’m at a loss. The fictional juices have dried up and I’m not sure how to make them come back. I miss writing fiction. I miss learning about my characters as I create them. I miss the blending of fact and fiction within my stories that allows me to release some type of bottled up emotion. I guess maybe it’s a good thing I’m having trouble tapping into that bottled up emotion. That means I’m letting go of my emotions instead of pushing them down and pretending like they don’t exist. One problem, though: I WANT TO WRITE FICTION. Ugh.

Thus is my problem that appears unsolvable at this moment.

Goodnight, good and faithful readers. I’m going to go dream up characters that I cannot seem to put into words.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

