Just another WordPress.com weblog

So I stole the title of a Rob Bell sermon. I don’t think he’ll mind. If he speaks up and says he does, then I will change it. Fair? Good.

Today has been a day that pulls on my spiritual heartstrings. Today’s WU chapel was dedicated to the upcoming mission trip to Haiti during Spring Break 2011. The pictures, the suffering, the lack of hope within the people of Haiti breaks my heart. Well, let me rephrase that. As someone who has never seen real suffering in person and has never been on a mission trip outside the USA, or inside it for that matter, my heart broke. It didn’t break the way it should. I felt sympathy and guilt at my comfortable lifestyle while these people have to stand in the rain to try and sleep because otherwise they will be covered in water. I was able to still walk out of chapel without a tear, without a desperate desire to do something. I think there’s a problem with that…a problem with my heart.

That being said, let me give you a little extra background. God has been working in my heart over the last year. A year ago, I would have blatantly told you that missions is not something God has called me to do so don’t even ask. Since then, he’s warmed that stone of a heart in this area. Before, I thought there is plenty that needs to be done here; I don’t need to go around the world to help people. I also had trouble defining the difference between a full-time calling to missions and the week or two a year mission trips. Since last year, I have actually welcomed the idea of a mission trip, and have truly considered joining the mission trip this summer with RPC to Honduras with Trash Mountain Project to build homes. This transformation is all God. Our Christian duty is to reach out to those who need our help, whether in our nation’s borders or out of them. I’m tired of not helping. I’m tired of standing on the sidelines because I don’t know where to start helping. I’m done talking. I’m done thinking. There’s a time for action. There’s an opportunity I can seize. “God is bigger than the boogie man. He’s bigger than Godzilla or the monsters on TV.” (Thanks, Veggie Tales!). If he’s so big, then I might as well start trusting him to take care of me so I can go take care of others.

All of these thoughts hit home tonight as I was walking the dog and enjoying the beautiful weather. I popped in my headphones and started listening to the Switchfoot song “Yet”. I didn’t pay too much attention until the bridge part of the song came on. It hit home awfully quick. I will leave you with those few lines to taste, chew, and devour. Enjoy.

“If it doesn’t break
If it doesn’t break
If it doesn’t break
If it doesn’t break your heart, it isn’t love
If it doesn’t break your heart, it’s not enough
It’s when your breaking down, with all your insides coming out
That’s when you find what your heart is made of”


And so, dear reader, I ask you: what is your heart made of?

Comments on: "“The Human Heart is a Mystery…”" (1)

  1. I love reading your blog and wanted to let you know that I am awarding you with the Lovely Blog Award.

    The fun rules for recipients:
    1. Put the One Lovely Blog award logo on your blog and/or in a new post.
    2. In a new post, share 3 things you think are lovely
    3. Pass the award on to 3 fellow bloggers.
    4. Link the nominees within your post.
    5. Let the nominees know they have received the award by commenting on their blogs.
    6. Share the love and link to the person whom you received the award.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

